Your Subtitle text

Insurance Benefits in Texas






Motor Vehicle Accident

Other Personal Injury

Other Area


MARTINDALE-HUBBELL® PEER REVIEW RATINGS™

Peer Rating
 5/5.0
AV®Preeminent




Gary Lee, Attorney, PLLC
1335 Space Park Drive,
Suite B
Houston, TX 77058

Phone: 281-335-0015
Fax: 281-335-0014

Hours: 7:30am - 4:30pm
Email the Firm

 

Auto, 18 Wheeler, Motorcycle Accidents

If you are in an automobile collision in Texas, there are various insurance benefits that may afford you coverage. For instance, in a multi-car collision where another driver is at fault, you (and/or your passengers) may be entitled to damages paid by the adverse driver's liability insurance for any injuries sustained. You may also be entitled to damages paid by their liability insurance for any damage to your vehicle.

 

If you are a passenger in the driver's vehicle who is at fault, you may be entitled to his or her liability insurance for any injuries you sustain. You may be entitled to their Personal Injury Protection or Med-Pay coverage. You may also be entitled to your own Personal Injury Protection or Med-Pay coverage under your own policy of automobile insurance.

POLICIES WHICH MAY AFFORD COVERAGE FOR INJURIES AND DAMAGES:

 

  1. Adverse Driver's Policy of Insurance
    • Liability for Bodily Injury
    • Liability for Property Damage 
    • In some instances, you may be entitled to their Personal Injury Protection (PIP) or Med-Pay coverage
  2. Your Own Policy of Insurance
    • PIP or Med-Pay - Texas' version of "no fault insurance". This can be used to pay medical expenses or to reimburse you for up to 80% of your lost wages.
    • Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Coverage
  3. Insurance on Other Vehicles in the Household

KNOW YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS.

Do you know your legal rights about automobile insurance coverage?
Do you want to rely on your insurance company to tell you your rights?
How much coverage is available to you?
What are the elements of damage that are covered?

We know your rights. We will fight for your rights.

 

DID YOU KNOW???

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage costs pennies on the dollar. Automobile Insurance providers are required by Texas law to offer you PIP coverage. The minimum amount of coverage allowed by law is $2,500. The maximum amount of coverage allowed by law is $10,000. Many insurance companies will tell you that you don't need this coverage, even though it costs very little.

 

You must decline PIP coverage in writing. If you did not sign a waiver declining PIP coverage, you have this coverage.

Check your policy or ask your insurance agent about increasing your Personal Injury Protection to $10,000.

This money can be used to pay your out-of-pocket medical expenses, including your co-pays or co-insurance. It can also be used to reimburse you for up to 80% of your lost wages, regardless of who is at fault.

Generally, this money is not subject to subrogation. Therefore, generally, it does not have to be paid back.

Med-Pay Protection will only reimburse you for out-of-pocket medical expenses, and your insurance company may be entitled to get that money back if you recover from the driver at fault.

Check your policy or ask your insurance agent about switching to Personal Injury Protection benefits in the amount of $10,000.

Uninsured / Underinsured Protection may provide you with more coverage if the at-fault driver has little or no insurance. The minimum liability insurance required by Texas law is only $30,000. If you are seriously injured due to someone else's negligence and they only have the minimum amount of insurance, your Uninsured / Underinsured coverage may provide you with additional insurance.

You are entitled to purchase as much Uninsured / Underinsured Protection as you have in liability coverage.

Check your policy or ask your insurance agent about increasing your Uninsured / Underinsured Protection to the maximum amount allowed by law.

Website Builder